Background & Basic Data


Official Name: The People’s Republic of Bangladesh

Political System: Parliamentary Democracy

Capital Name: Dhaka

Time Zone: GMT +6 Hours.

Location: between 20°34′ to 26°38′ north latitude and 88°01′ to 92°41′ east longitude.

Boundary: East, West and North: India

South East: Myanmar (Burma)

South: Bay of Bengal

Area: 56,977 sq miles or 147,570 sq km. Territorial  water:12 Nautical Miles or 22 km         

Bangladesh has three major Sea Port: Chittagong, Mongla & Paira

Main Seasons: Summer (March-May), 

Rainy Seasons : (June-September) Winter (December-February)

Seasonal crops and fruits: Rice, Jute, Wheat, Tobacco, Spices, Vegetables, Jackfruit, Banana, Mango, Coconut, Pineapple.

Natural Resources: Natural Gas, Coal, Lime, White, Clay, Granite, Glass

The current population of Bangladesh is 165,375,504 as of Wednesday, December 2, 2020, based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data.